log in | register | forums
Show:
Go:
Welcome
The Icon Bar is the longest running RISC OS portal. The sensibilities that Acorn instilled in us still influence our interests and writing.

Buy swag
Got news?
Let us know!
A9home review
A9home review
We give our opinion on the A9home.
Subscriptions RSS Feeds
RSS 2.0 | 1.0 | 0.9
Atom 0.3
Misc RDF | CDF
Podcasts
Subscribe | iTunes | List
Latest MP3
Site Search
 
Article archives

Iris July update

Posted by Mark Stephens on 07:44, 12/7/2021 |
 
The last time we looked at Iris was the April release (1.010), and the Developers have been very busy since then.
 
Continue reading "Iris July update" | 2 comments in the forums

FOURtress reviewed as a Linux machine

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:08, 8/7/2021 |
 
In my previous 2 articles I gave my first impressions of the FOURtress and Reviewed the FOURtress as a RISC OS machine. This time we look at it for Linux (interacting with RISC OS).
 
Continue reading "FOURtress reviewed as a Linux machine" | 1 comment in the forums

TextEase Reviewed - Turtle Graphics

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:04, 29/6/2021 | ,
 
TextEase is far more than just a DTP package. Depending on the version you buy, there are several additional programs included. In our first article, we looked at TextEase as a DTP/Word-processor and the packages available. In this final part, we look at the Turtle Logo (!TeTurtle).
 
Continue reading "TextEase Reviewed - Turtle Graphics" | 1 comment in the forums

FOURtress reviewed as a RISC OS machine

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:20, 17/6/2021 |
 
RISCOSbits has been establishing a strong reputation for producing stylish cases for the Raspberry Pi boards running RISC OS with generally silly names. I already have a PiHard at work, but I do have a small space at home. So I decided to check out the new FOURtress. So what is it like as a RISC OS machine?
 
Continue reading "FOURtress reviewed as a RISC OS machine" | Comment in the forums

Organizer updated to 2.29a

Posted by Mark Stephens on 08:19, 14/6/2021 |
 
While they were not speaking at the Wakefield Show, the Organizer team took the opportunity to release another minor update - 2.29a
 
Continue reading "Organizer updated to 2.29a" | Comment in the forums

MoreDesk software goes free

Posted by Mark Stephens on 06:56, 10/6/2021 |
 
MoreDesk (from 7th Software) is one of those really useful utilities which adds additional functionality to the RISC OS desktop. And there is absolutely no reason not to try it now that the software is free!
 
MoreDesk adds support for multiple virtual screens to RISC OS. You can now regard your actual physical screen as a viewport onto a larger virtual screen or switch between different screens for different tasks. At work I have a work screen (with just my coding windows) and my admin screen with Mail, diary, etc on it. I can switch between or create a new empty screen for a new task.
 
Continue reading "MoreDesk software goes free" | 2 comments in the forums

First impressions of the RISCOSbits FOURtress

Posted by Mark Stephens on 07:38, 7/6/2021 |
 
The FOURtress is one of the growing stable of machines available from RISCOSbits.
 
Continue reading "First impressions of the RISCOSbits FOURtress" | 3 comments in the forums

PiTools reviewed

Posted by Mark Stephens on 14:52, 3/6/2021 |
 
R-CompInfo have now released some of the software they provide with their own Pi machines for other Pi users as PiTools. So I decided to install it on my PiHard system.
 
Continue reading "PiTools reviewed" | Comment in the forums

Spy Mission: The Ice caves of Dr. Atom reviewed

Read article... | Comment in the forums

Drag'n'Drop 10i5 edition reviewed

Read article... | Comment in the forums

LanMan98 revisited

Read article... | Comment in the forums

Drag'n'Drop 10i4 edition reviewed

Read article... | Comment in the forums

Running Python on RISC OS

Read article... | 2 comments in the forums

Rougol February online meeting with Steffen Huber

Read article... | 1 comment in the forums
Recent discussions
- July News round-up (News:)
- AMCS free versions are live! (Gen:26)
- Cogwheel graphic? (select switcher Icon) (Gen:17)
- Rougol July talk (News:)
- Iris July update (News:2)
- July Rougol meeting goes hybrid (News:)
- FOURtress reviewed as a Linux machine (News:1)
- TextEase Reviewed - Turtle Graphics (News:1)
- June News Round-up (News:)
- Rougol June Talk - RISC OS...RM days with Mike Stephens (News:3)
Services
- Free ads
- Web hosting
Sites we like
- Ars Technica
- Daring Fireball
- Ganymede & Titan
- Drobe
- Kotaku